Dear Alpha Dogs: here is a fun game to play

10 Dec

Sometimes I lie down on the floor. It’s a good thing to do when you are feeling stressed or anxious or tired or relaxed or happy. You lie on your back on this very flat surface and stare up at the ceiling. Obviously outdoors is better, with grass and sky, but indoors will always do. 

Then my dog comes over and we play a game I like to call Alpha Puppy. She sniffs at me and I’m about as low as I can be with my stomach exposed and vulnerable, and she sits down and looks very concerned about her new role and responsibilities in the pack. She paws at me to get up.

If she’s feeling really worried she lies down next to me and tries to get even lower into the floor than I am. You can play for as long as you want, and everybody wins because it often ends in a double-nap.

 

It’s probably time for me to get a job.

 

Leave a Reply

