Dear I was Basically Stephen King when I was 9

10 Sep

First of all, let’s notice what neat cursive I had as a 9-year-old. Talk about a useless skill. Do they even teach kids to write cursive these days? Half the adults I know can’t read it. I wrote all my students’ feedback in cursive this year. They don’t read feedback anyway, and this way I managed expectations for both of us. 

Here’s a “scary story” I wrote when I was 9. And I’ve gotta say, reading it freaks the hell out of me now. 

If I was going to write a scary story, it would be about a crazy man who goes around at night on back roads. If someone’s driving down the road that he’s on, he jumps on the car and scratchs [sic] it until the person comes out to investigate & then he jumps on the person & kills him or her. — Title– Murder on the Backroads.

A few notes:

1. …This is an urban legend, right? Not something original I actually produced out of my twisted little brain? What a little plagiarist! 

2. I frame the story with this pansy device of “IF I was going to write a scary story, it would be…” So that I don’t get freaked out by thinking that I actually was writing down a scary story? The repression! The denial!

3. “kills him or her…” No improper use of that oh-so-popular “them” for this 9-year-old. 

MM

One Response to “Dear I was Basically Stephen King when I was 9”

  1. Katie Farris 17 September 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    On the upside, your penmanship is really quite outstanding.

Leave a Reply

