Dear There Are Lots of Fish in the Sea

6 Aug

I went out two nights in a row a few weekends ago. On Friday I went to a bar in Ballard to see a college friend who was in town. On Saturday I went to the Capitol Hill Block Party. There were food trucks and bands and an inordinate number of rompers and an obscene amount of plaid.

It made me happy. Here, I’ll say it: I like hipsters.

That’s right.

And it’s a good thing, too, because Seattle… whoa baby.

ALL of these people have facial hair. ALL OF THEM. (July 2012 Capitol Hill Block Party via Seattleite)

I’ve been spending a lot of time at home. I’m working full-time and there’s kind of a commute involved, and I just moved back to Seattle two months ago and I’m never much one for going out…so home. Frequently. Most nights. With the books and the tv and the dog and the parents.

So I sort of went into shock when I went out two nights in a row.

There were so many people! Of my own age! Single people and fat people and coupled people and gay people and happy people and brooding people and boys wearing baseball hats backwards like dumbasses and boys wearing suspenders like little twee skinny asexual hipsters and girls with tattoos and girls without bras and people taking up the shuffleboard table for way too long and pissing me off because I really like playing shuffleboard.

People! So many of them! All shapes and sizes and sexes! Maybe someone or some ones who want to be my friend or maybe want to make out with me someday or maybe we will be enemies! (Some of those options more preferable than others.)

There are so many people in this city, in this world, so many people about my own age or older or younger. Who I don’t know yet. Who I could know, maybe (call me?)

I just had no idea. There are not that many people where I frequent— that is…none of them are in my parents’ house watching Buffy —-? Whaaat.

Who wants to go out and play?

xoxo,

MM

One Response to “Dear There Are Lots of Fish in the Sea”

  1. kristendoc 6 August 2012 at 8:53 am #

    Yay! So proud of you. Come to NYC anytime and we can go out two nights in a row. Or if you’re up to it, even three! xo

Leave a Reply

