Dear I Am Now Going to Write for Portlandia, Please Pre-Send Your Congratulations

30 May

Welp, guys, it’s official. Both my mom and my dad have suggested that I “write for that show about Portland.” Because, according to my mom, “I don’t know, it just reminds me of how funny you are!” and according to my dad, “Because it seems fun to write for a show like that.” 

Yes, because the reason why I’m not writing for a hit award-winning television series is because ugh, it just seems like a drag

So they’ve both suggested it, and I made some noises about how it’s not that simple, and they both said something about how “you never know until you try!”

And I follow this guy on Twitter who just announced that he’s moving to Los Angeles to write for Parks & Rec, and clearly because we’re both on Twitter we’re the exact same, I mean he’s a professional comedian and and I’m unemployed so same-same, and no, he doesn’t follow me but it’s easy to forget that on Twitter, and also someone on Parks & Rec hired him and I have 76 followers, none of whom have hired me to write for a tv show or to do anything else, even illegal or immoral things I would definitely not agree to, but it’s happened for someone, somewhere, at some point, so my parents are right, it can happen.

Basically it’s in the bag. Why haven’t any of you thought of doing something like this? 

I’ll let you know where Carrie gets her hair cut shortly. 

In the meantime, I’m going to ask my parents if they’ve heard any updates about the Easter Bunny or my childhood crush Jett Jackson calling me back.

MM

One Response to “Dear I Am Now Going to Write for Portlandia, Please Pre-Send Your Congratulations”

  1. Magic Sam 30 May 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    In this vein, I will be moving to New York to write for The Daily Show. I think I’ll just fly out there and then it will happen, because something something THAT’S HOW THE WORLD WORKS.

Leave a Reply

