Things I Like on the Internet

4 May

THINGS I LIKE ON THE INTERNET! I know it’s Wednesday but it’s almost finals week and this is the “get shit done fortnight” as my friend Taylor calls it and mostly I just am too burnt out to do anything but look at the internet right now, so maybe you are feeling the same way and want to look with me.

Privilege and the American Dream: or, why we’re actually mad at Gwyneth Paltrow. This article’s kind of beautiful in its simplicity. Seriously, richies, what happened to that tacit agreement we had where you acknowledge that your life is easier and everyone else doesn’t start a class war? [Huffington Post]

Baby pygmy goats stampede! That’s double small! [YouTube]:

Tina Fey writes poetry and prayer and it’s nice and I like it. Even if I’m not sure about this whole “children” concept. [write in color]

Look, guys, I taught freshmen composition for a semester and there’s a chance I’ll do it again sometimes in the future, and I can tell you… this thing is DEAD ON. If I had had these, I would have USED THEM SO HARD AND SO OFTEN. Students don’t understand that their graduate students are full of anger and rage and dirty jokes: Rubber Stamps I Wish I had for Grading Freshmen Composition Papers.  [McSweeney’s]

And its companion….Shit My Students Write ….God, I’m glad I’m not teaching. (I recommend being in a place where loud laughter is tolerated if you’re going to read this site.)

And, finally, Loretta Lynn sings a song to you:

2 Responses to “Things I Like on the Internet”

  1. Elizabeth 4 May 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    You gotta read Bossypants! I read it in less than a day. Tina Fey is genius

  2. MEA 9 May 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    I love the Tina Fey prayer. You too will someday get this.

Leave a Reply

