Dear Swimming

3 Jan

Dear Swimming,

You have always seemed like a poor workout option.  Working out, by definition, makes me want to breathe in an even more desperate way than usual and, according to my experiential research, humans can’t breathe underwater.

Also, swimming has always seemed like the one type of exercise where if I get too tired, the consequences are lethal.  Literally.  If I stop swimming, that’s called drowning, aka dying.

Whereas if I get tired during yoga and lie down, that’s called Shavasana and you’re supposed to do that.  If I get tired during running and I stop, that’s called walking or taking a cab. It might be embarrassing, but I live to blush and make up lies about where I was and why I’m paying a taxi to drive me five blocks.

I guess the other workout you really don’t want to stop during is rock climbing. Then you not only die, you PLUNGE TO YOUR CERTAIN DEATH.

Which really sounds quite dramatic.

Best not to workout at all, really.

MM

2 Responses to “Dear Swimming”

  1. Gina 5 January 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    I like this

  2. margaret michelle 5 January 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    haha thanks gina! do you want to not swim with me in the new year?

Leave a Reply

