Dear Katie

19 Nov

Dear Katie,

So, you guys, my sister (Katie) sent me an email the other day with a suggestion for a letter.  About herself.  Except she went ahead and wrote the darn thing, so I’m just going to copy and paste it below and hope that the joy of the family dog’s delightful antics and soft fur keep her (sister, not dog) from suing me for plagiarism.  I don’t think the dog knows how to call the lawyer.  Yet.

I’m constantly getting “helpful” emails from my sister with “great ideas for my blog” and correcting typos and helpful hints like “link the homepage to the banner because the other blogs I read do” and she expects me to appreciate her efforts.

Then she adds this note:
You should also include that many quotation marks. It would be better if they were air quotes but that’s kind of hard to do in a letter. I know, I’m so helpful. You don’t have to thank me, just remember me when your blog starts making it big.

Psh.  First of all, I would totally correct that banner thing but I don’t know how to.  I spent like 30 whole seconds trying.

Secondly, I always fix typos when she catches them.  Sometimes I yell and pound the keys while I do, I’m so excited that she has chosen to help me out in this manner.  She usually includes a helpful little reassurance like, “That’s an easy mistake to make” or “really, the f key and the p key are very close together if you’re a penguin and don’t have any fingers.”

Which makes me feel “so” much “better.”  It’s kind of like when we were little, and she’d say, “Well, that’s a really pretty mudhouse you drew!” and I’d say, “IT’S A FAIRY PRINCESS” and she’s say, “Brown was an interesting choice.  And is she just really fat or what?  Don’t worry, I bet if you start over it will be better next time.”

She’s a real encourager, that one.  She could totally coach football in Texas with that kind of encouraging attitude.  And oh, I’ll remember her when my blog makes it big.  Maybe I’ll prove it by just writing every letter from here on out to her.  I have some things to say, all right?

Thing #1: She went through a phase when she was in college when she would bite me.

Love you!

MM

3 Responses to “Dear Katie”

  1. MEA 19 November 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    Hmmm. MEA

  2. Gina 22 November 2010 at 9:29 am #

    I love this! I love this line about you punching the keys while trying to correct the typos she so lovingly pointed out!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dear Sweet Gooey Gumdrops « Dear Mr. Postman - 14 December 2010

    […] as I was thinking about puppies, my sister sent me this link to The Daily Puppy, because we too have a goldendoodle named Roxie.  Except we […]

Leave a Reply

