Dear Birthday

23 Mar

Dear Birthday,

Hello.  Nice to see you once again. I have to say, you always do arrive on time…

I’m not sure how I feel about 24.  I mean, ok, I’m still a spring chicken and all, but 24 feels solidly in the mid-twenties, rather than the early twenties, and every year I get farther away from 16 (I did not love 16, but that’s when Sylvia Plath published her first poem in The New Yorker) (then again, she also ended with her head in an oven) (maybe my goal should not be to emulate her life).

I have to say, I was kind of hoping for a pony, but I guess I’ll take healthcare reform (in whatever form it takes) as a substitute.

Ponies are overrated anyway.

Besides, 24 used to be my favorite answer in the times tables.  It’s divisible by so many things! 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 24…so many options! SO MANY possibilities!

Yes.  We’ll get along just fine, 24 and I.  Right? Right?!?!?!

Love,

MM

PS– Thank you to everyone who already helped me to celebrate, and everyone who will celebrate with me today, and next week, and…..oh, I just get the one day? Are you sure?  Not the whole year?  What about in my own head? Can I keep the whole year in my own head? And have cupcakes sometimes?  Great. Thanks. Appreciate it.

One Response to “Dear Birthday”

  1. Elizabeth@obcookie 24 March 2010 at 3:50 am #

    Dear Margaret!

    Happy Birthday. 24 is a great year. Growing up is fun!

    I sometimes too get worked up over the fact that I’m getting older and seemingly have nothing to prove for it. But everybody is on their own time course. Many great artists had nothing shown until their 40s.

    I hope you had an excellent day.

    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

