Dear Anniversary

27 Oct

Dear Anniversary,

Yes, folks. Yes. It is Dear Mr. Postman’s and my anniversary. This is a special, special day.

I began Dear Mr. Postman exactly one year ago (hence the anniversary). We’ve come a lot way since then…

I started with a letter to Bill Clinton. I had to break the news to him gently that I was leaving him for his wife Hillary. Since then I’ve written letters to large groups of people, to inanimate objects (Dear Vegan Doughnuts is a personal favorite), to objects I wish were inanimate, to animals (varmint) and books and bands and songs and political offices and fruits…

We’ve covered some important issues here, people. And some really, really, really, reaaaaaaally unimportant ones. We’ve ranted and raved and applauded and bemoaned.

A run-down of the most-clicked-on-letters of all time, so far, as of today, so not so much all time:

1. Dear Half-Shaved (Female) Heads (who knew so many people were interested?)

2. Dear New Friend

3. Dear Body

4. Dear Facebook Status Updates

5. Dear Taylor Swift

6. Dear Friends Who Stop Calling Friends Back

7. Dear Religion, Bill Maher, and My Mother

8. Dear Pantsuits and Politics, Dear Living Alone, Dear Woody Allen Movies

9. Dear Leftovers

10. Dear People Who Think Sex and Love Are Unrelated, Dear People Who Hate People Who Read Trashy Magazines

Whew. Y’all better click on some of those, because I hate hyperlinking.

But what we would really like (me and the Dear Mr. Postman) (yes, the blog has feelings, duh) is….COMMENTS! FEEDBACK! Aka interaction. You know, you get to a year, and you’ve been together through thick and thin, and then one night you’re sitting in front of the TV together, not saying anything, and one of you is like, “Pass the chips” and the other one passes the chips and then all of sudden you realize that is the only thing that has been said for the last seven hours?!? Pass the chips?

Chips are awesome, don’t get me wrong.

So if you love a letter, let me know. If you laughed out loud, please please let me know. If you love vegan doughnuts, you ought to try a real one and live a little. Lying to yourself isn’t going to help anybody.

Anyway, I hope you have enjoyed the past year as much as I have. I hope there are more to come. Thank you for reading.

And thank you, Dear Mr. Postman, for being such a wonderful listener.

Love,

MM

8 Responses to “Dear Anniversary”

  1. Aaron 27 October 2009 at 10:20 am #

    I read the religion one. Your mom seems like a nice lady. You can tell her I said so. 🙂

  2. GSavidge 27 October 2009 at 12:01 pm #

    Dear History

  3. margaret michelle 27 October 2009 at 12:44 pm #

    Aaron– I will do that. I’m sure my mom will appreciate hearing that you think she is a nice lady.

  4. skhor 27 October 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    Well I know for a fact that your mom is a nice lady, and also I know for a fact that I’ve read every single one of these posts, even if I haven’t commented on all of them. I’ll do better this next year. 😀

  5. kristendoc 28 October 2009 at 10:47 am #

    https://dearmrpostman.wordpress.com/2009/07/11/dear-disney-dreams/

    Is my favorite.

    But my memory is murky so I can’t recall much before the summer anyway.

    Much love and keep writing!

  6. margaret michelle 28 October 2009 at 11:15 am #

    Thank you, all of you, and I also cannot remember most of the letters I have written although I am sure they are all dear to my heart and very important for everyone, esp. Michael, to read….

    kristendoc, skhor, xoxo!

  7. Analise 2 April 2010 at 9:11 am #

    Dear Dear Mr. Postman,

    Thank you for existing. I stumbled upon your delightfulness through Not Quite What I Expected (another stumbled-upon treat!) and now my afternoon has been full of devouring your archives, including each of the hyperlinks above. It has taken great force of will not to laugh out loud sometimes at you, out of respect for the fact that I ought to be working right now. Luckily, it requires no boss’s-attention-drawing vocal jocularity to forward my favorite posts to all my friends; my friends who will, I have no doubt, soon adore you as much as I do.

    So, thanks for putting yourself out there, Dear Mr. Postman. Sometimes it’s hard to speak up in this world of constant vitriolic noise, but I find you quite enjoyably refreshing.

    Keep on keepin’ on!

  8. margaret michelle 2 April 2010 at 9:56 am #

    Dear Analise,

    What a lovely, delightful letter in my comment-box! Thank you so much. I appreciate you reading, and I appreciate that you took the time to let me know you are enjoying my particular viewpoint of this crazy world…and so glad to hear you think I’m funny. You know, unlike a stand-up comedian, I don’t have either angry silence or raucous laughter to send me in the right direction–just a lot of deadpan emptiness staring back at me from the internet.

    Come back soon!

Leave a Reply

