Dear Franny and Zooey

13 Oct

Dear Franny and Zooey,

Where, oh where, are you?

Come home to me. I miss you– your plain white stripey cover, your beautifully absurd high-brow conversations in the bathtub, your chain-smoking pages.

Used bookstores have thousands of used copies of Catcher in the Rye– but you, oh dear Franny, dear Zooey, are such a rare find.

Light an SOS fire (made not of your pages) so I might find you.

Come home, come home, love,

MM

Edited: Ok, people, we can all calm down. Franny and Zooey has been located. Thanks for your quick response to the situation. Franny, Zooey, welcome back. I’m sorry to have put you under a much larger book that I don’t even like very much so you were obscured from my view. Please forgive me. Everyone else, go about your business. Nothing to see here….

2 Responses to “Dear Franny and Zooey”

  1. Mary Wallace 23 October 2009 at 12:30 pm #

    I missed this when it was new, but I just want to say how glad I am to hear Franny and Zooey mentioned. It is one of my favorites too, and like so many of the best of the best it deserves to be read again about every ten years or so and I am definitely due.

    I watched Radio Days again the other day and it made me think about the “wise kids” Woody Allen could have probably made a great movie of that book. Maybe we should write to him and suggest it. Of course he probably would never get permission from Salinger. Is he still alive? I don’t remember hearing that he died, but of course I don’t remember a lot these days.

  2. margaret michelle 23 October 2009 at 3:49 pm #

    –I think j.d. salinger is still alive! but according to wikipedia, has not given an interview since 1980. though I have to say, woody allen would NOT be my pick for the director of that movie…(I’m going to self-reference here and just say, see the letter Dear Woody Allen movies).

    I’m glad you enjoyed seeing Franny and Zooey pop up– I’m due for a re-read too, as soon as it comes back from the friend that caused the search in the first place.

    And thanks in general for reading! And commenting! I love hearing feedback.

Leave a Reply

