Dear Laundry Left in the Shared Machine

23 Sep

Dear Laundry Left in the Shared Machine,

You make me sad. Who has forgotten you? Do they not want you anymore?

You lie there, wet and wrinkled and tangled about the central spinner like forgotten ribbons at the Maypole.  Stuck, you cannot move on to the next phase of your life (the warm and woolly dryer).

I do not want to move you to the counter. It would mark you as permanently displaced, to be so interrupted in your natural cycle. And yet– I too have needs, and my laundry too needs to be washed (but not forgotten). So I sigh and reach in, reluctant to embrace your clammy being, and lift and set as gently as I can on the cleanest spot I find, saying a little apologia in my head to the person with whom you belong.

I wish you all the best.

May you be re-washed and dried immediately, may you be folded carefully and stored away with hands that love your clean, new feel.

MM

2 Responses to “Dear Laundry Left in the Shared Machine”

  1. Sam 13 October 2009 at 11:07 am #

    This is frighteningly accurate. I may leave this letter on top of the clammy pile of clothes that I will inevitably find while trying to do my own laundry tonight.

  2. margaret michelle 13 October 2009 at 12:54 pm #

    it’s still there! seventyhundred weeks later!

Leave a Reply

