Dear GChat (and other interweb things)

17 Dec

Dear GChat (and other interweb things),

You are AIM for adults. And oddly enough, even people who scoffed at AIM (my sister) now use you regularly. For extended conversations. With a friend, a boyfriend, and a sister. Simultaneously.

And here’s the thing: I had some Major Conversations on AIM in middle school and high school. Like tear-jerking, friendship-evaluating, crush-inducing chats. My recent experience with you, GChat, has not been nearly so emotionally draining. Then again, there’s been a significant decrease in drama in my life as a whole since I stopped passing notes in class and flirting with people next to their lockers in between fourth and fifth period.

Facebook, too, not nearly as drama-filled as it used to be. For one thing, most sane people have figured out that they should just leave their “relationship status” off the interwebs, because if people do not know you well enough to ask what is going on, they have no right to be informed anyway. And who wants everyone they’re Facebook Friends with to know when you break up? Gah. I guess it’s a personal preference, but it’s a strong one of mine.

It also results in some great moments. Like when my friend E got drunk a few nights ago, went over to her boyfriend’s house, and asked him why he wouldn’t be her Facebook Boyfriend. To which he replied, “…You won’t be my Facebook Girlfriend…” As she tells it, E went silent. And then said, “Oh yeah.” And moved on.

I’d like to point out that this is another great example of why no one should pick relationship fights (or almost any fights) when they’re drunk. And in the interest of full disclosure, I had a moment when Facebook told me the guy I am dating had changed his status from “Single” to… nothing. Oh yes, it’s true, it was a turning point. Or something.

GChat! I’m a big fan. You make AIM acceptable for adults, and I have fond memories. Plus you’re convenient. It drives me crazy to email back and forth one-liners about directions and what should I bring when I can see the other person is sitting on their computer. Then again, there are several people on my email list I have no desire whatsoever to ever, ever talk to in an online-chat-sort-of-format, and I haven’t figured out how to be invisible to a select few. Which would be a useful skill in real life as well. Google? Any thoughts?

Also, if anyone has any ideas about how to respond to the sign-off “Cheers!” on GChat, let me know. In an email, it’s easy enough to say it back. And not that many people say it out loud… but in an online chat? How do the Brits handle this?

Cheers!

MM

2 Responses to “Dear GChat (and other interweb things)”

  1. skhor 17 December 2008 at 4:57 pm #

    “Bottoms up!” ???

  2. hesaidandshesaid 12 May 2009 at 11:18 am #

    toodles?
    my friend jeremy posted on AIM v Gchat on our blog: http://hesaidandshesaid.wordpress.com/2009/04/17/he-said-aim-stalking-made-legal/

Leave a Reply

